Love came to me as a snake in tall grass

04/11/2015 § Leave a comment

Love came to me

as a snake in tall grass.

I gave it my heel

for fear of nothing better.

 

Now my blood swells

like a river under wet sky

and a disquiet follows my soul

wherever I go.

 

Life confounds,

is confounded.

I shall find no reprieve

in sleep nor slumber.

 

Are there others here

who wander as I do,

trekking this lonely path

between the heart and the loin?

 

Love came to me

as a snake in tall grass.

I gave it my heel

and would give it again, again, again.

 

So, friends, tell me true:

whoever loved

that never did burn?

 

(04.11.2015 – for use in fiction)

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Love came to me as a snake in tall grass at Poetry and Other Things.

meta

